ARCAM 390 IP control

Forum to ask for any help
Post Reply
flinke flasche
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2013 2:21 pm

ARCAM 390 IP control

Post by flinke flasche » Fri Sep 22, 2017 10:26 am

Hi,

i have a new AV and would like to contol it over IP.
Arcam has a pdf documet for the Instructions and codes, but it don't work in my tests.

The Port for IP is 50000.

Each transmission by the RC is the following format:
<St> <Zn> <Cc> <Dl> <Data> <Et>
„ St (Start transmission): 0x21 ‘!’
„ Zn (Zone number):
„ Cc (Command code): the code for the command
„ Dl (Data length): the number of data items following this item,excluding the ETR
„ Data: the parameters for the command
„ Et (End transmission): 0x0D

The codes looks like this for change Source to BD
0x21 0x01 0x0A 0x01 0x00 0x0D

When i put this code in Demopad nothing happens.

I see in the Demopad software that i must change the " " to "\". Is this correct?
0x21\0x01\0x0A\0x01\0x00\0x0D
But this don' work too.

Can someone help me?
Last edited by flinke flasche on Sun Sep 24, 2017 4:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.

flinke flasche
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2013 2:21 pm

Re: ARCAM 390 IP control

Post by flinke flasche » Sat Sep 23, 2017 12:41 am

I found the solution to control the Arcam over IP.

The code 0x21\0x01\0x0A\0x01\0x00\0x0D was wrong.
This code \x21\x01\x0A\x01\x00\x0D is correct.


The next step is the Feedback.

flinke flasche
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2013 2:21 pm

Re: ARCAM 390 IP control

Post by flinke flasche » Sun Sep 24, 2017 9:09 pm

i have a Problem with the RS232/IP feedback.

For Example:
When i send the volume + command ()

\x21\x01\x08\x02\x10\x10\x0D

i receive only the feedback „!“ = 0x21

Maybe you can help me that i get the right feedback.
Can it be a bug in the Firmware?
Bildschirmfoto 2017-09-24 um 20.33.53.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

flinke flasche
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2013 2:21 pm

Re: ARCAM 390 IP control

Post by flinke flasche » Sun Oct 01, 2017 10:28 am

I found the solution.

for the most of the feedback codes you must change the code to this format:
!\x01\x14\x00\x01\x00\x0D

if you set the last x0D global you can change it to
!\x01\x14\x00\x01\x00

Bildschirmfoto 2017-10-01 um 11.32.46.jpg

I use Pocket Sender (MAC) to check the codes.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
DemoPad
Site Admin
Posts: 714
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2012 10:46 am
Contact:

Re: ARCAM 390 IP control

Post by DemoPad » Mon Oct 02, 2017 7:57 pm

Also note that whilst DemoPad uses \x format for hex bytes, Hercules uses $ - so \x0D = $0D in Hercules.

asimp11
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2012 1:00 pm

Re: ARCAM 390 IP control

Post by asimp11 » Sun Mar 04, 2018 7:01 pm

Has anybody got Regex working with Arcam RS232 ?

I hate their control routines, its 90% luck when it works

flinke flasche
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2013 2:21 pm

Re: ARCAM 390 IP control

Post by flinke flasche » Sun Mar 04, 2018 8:14 pm

No, Unfortunately.

Yes, it is really luck. Denon is much better.

For example.
For volume i use only a part of the feedback code, because demopad can‘t interpret the hole one.

Post Reply