Dpad control no longer switching Sky via GC-100-06 (Noob)

Forum to ask for any help
tidymax

Dpad control no longer switching Sky via GC-100-06 (Noob)

Post by tidymax » Mon Jan 19, 2015 7:33 pm

Hi all.

I am an electrician based in England who also does basic AV systems. One of the offices i look after has recently had their AV company go AWOL on the them. I have fixed alot of HDBaseT equipment in the office and i am currently fault finding some equipment in the bosses house.

The AV company hadn't left any OEM or bespoke user manuals for the client (which is something we ALWAYS! do) so after a couple of hours i had figured out their system.

Now i have never used Dpad Control or any IR systems, i have been through and labelled their equipment for them and explained how it actually works however i am not 100% sure on where to start fault finding the IR problem.

Please bear with me while i try and explain.

They have a HDBase T switcher (Wyrestorm)
GC 100-06
Blu Ray
Sky Box
Sonos Units.

They are using Harmony remotes and Dpad Control on the Ipad.

Dpad control will communicate with the GC-100-06 and switch all of the necessary components APART FROM the Wyrestorm.

I swapped IR transmitters to check that the transmitter plugged into the output communicating with the Wyrestorm hadn't gone faulty however that didnt work.

Any help, advice/pointers would be very much appreciated.

Ideally i would like to avoid having to purchase an Ipad and rebuilding their system.

Thanks, Max

Idealhomes

Re: Dpad control no longer switching Sky via GC-100-06 (Noob

Post by Idealhomes » Wed Jan 21, 2015 5:41 am

Hi Max

They may have set up the GC-100 to control the matrix via RS-232, check there is a DB9 cable going from the matrix to GC unit. If you have the DemoPad .pad file on hand, you will be able to see for certain.

Good luck
"Setting the Standard in Quality and Commitment"

tidymax

Post by tidymax » Wed Jan 21, 2015 10:50 am

Thanks for the reply.