Multiple controls one screen

Forum to ask for any help
Post Reply
stuarta
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2014 1:10 pm

Multiple controls one screen

Post by stuarta » Tue Jul 08, 2014 10:47 am

Hi

I am new to Demo pad, but slowly building our template. I am wanting to know if it is possible to link buttons to control multiple devises.

For example

Have 1 row of buttons - eg, tv 1, tv 2, tv3

Have another row below - which works off the above - turn on, turn off.

So the sequence would be to press TV1 - then press turn off

Thanks in advance

User avatar
DemoPad
Site Admin
Posts: 769
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2012 10:46 am
Contact:

Re: Multiple controls one screen

Post by DemoPad » Tue Jul 08, 2014 8:41 pm

Yes - using flags. Have a flag for each TV, called say TVA_Selected, TVB_Selected, TVC_Selected, and set the appropriate flag to 'exclusively on' when you press the associated TV button. Then on your number buttons, have several actions, but each dependent on the TV flags, eg:

Send Command 1 to TVA if TVA_Selected flag is ON
Send Command 1 to TVB if TVB_Selected flag is ON
Send Command 1 to TVC if TVC_Selected flag is ON

Because you set the flags to exclusively on, only one of them will be on at any given time

stuarta
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2014 1:10 pm

Re: Multiple controls one screen

Post by stuarta » Wed Jul 09, 2014 4:55 pm

Hi

This is an example screen shot. The number relates to the device I want to select, and then buttons for control this

Image

So I set a flag on each numbered box

then set multiple action on the controls referring to the flag?

User avatar
DemoPad
Site Admin
Posts: 769
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2012 10:46 am
Contact:

Re: Multiple controls one screen

Post by DemoPad » Wed Jul 09, 2014 5:11 pm

Yes exactly - so the number buttons will all have 1 action each: to set a Flag, eg Device1Flag to exclusively On.

The Open button would then have 4 actions,

Send Command: Open to Device#1 dependent on Device1Flag being ON
Send Command: Open to Device#2 dependent on Device2Flag being ON
Send Command: Open to Device#3 dependent on Device3Flag being ON
Send Command: Open to Device#4 dependent on Device4Flag being ON

As long as the 4 flags are in the same group, and you use the exclusively on operation, only one of the flags will be on at any one time - so only one of the actions on the Open button will execute.

Also, you could associate a highlight image with each device button, and use the same flag, so that it lights up when you select it - so you know which one you are controlling....

stuarta
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2014 1:10 pm

Re: Multiple controls one screen

Post by stuarta » Sat Jul 12, 2014 2:31 pm

Hi

Im still having issues with the 'flag'. I can get the blinds to move up and down, but this doesnt seem be working as it should. no matter what number I click it always moves the same blind.

Here is the screen as I see it.
Image

We have 20 blinds in total, also split into 2 sections. We want to be able to select just one blind, but also a complete section or all of them. Do you have a contact email or telephone I can call to discuss this?

User avatar
DemoPad
Site Admin
Posts: 769
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2012 10:46 am
Contact:

Re: Multiple controls one screen

Post by DemoPad » Sun Jul 13, 2014 9:08 am

See attached project for an example. If you wanted to control all the blinds, you'd have a button which set all the blind flags to ON.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Post Reply