CentroControl experience

General Discussion on DemoPad or related products
Post Reply
cv27
Posts: 226
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2012 10:15 pm
Location: Montréal, QC, Canada

CentroControl experience

Post by cv27 » Thu Dec 10, 2015 12:54 am

I thought I'd start a thread on CentroControl, successor to DemoControlHD.

So, I opened a DemoPad Free Cloud account, uploaded an existing project to it. I then downloaded CentroControl to the iPad and fired it up. I also generated a QR code for my uploaded project to the cloud. Here's where things are not so good anymore:
1- Selected "Scan System QR Code", pointed the camera to the display: nothing, no action, just sits there
2- Tried generating a new QR code: still no go
3- Tried to delete old QR codes: 'delete' button reacts but no visible action, codes still there
4- Thought I'd try the "Load Example system": once you do that, every time you load the app, you're back in the sample; only apparent way out is to remove app, download an install again
5- Just to be safe, removed both DemoControlHD and CentroControl, reinstalled CentroControl, scan QR code: still no go; thought to hit cancel this time: this pops the error message "error loading system, please reload from app settings": what does that mean? Hit OK on the message: back to a black screen, so need to force unload app

I may have missed something obvious here. Please help.

EDIT: Removed CentroControl, reinstalled DemoControlHD, set up parameters, set Designer to "Upload project to app". Now I consistently get error "error opening template, please reload from app settings". I eventually unselected/reselected the reload swithes in the settings and it finally came up ok. How can one get into so much trouble in one hour? :shock:

Mike DemoPad
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2012 3:36 pm

Re: CentroControl experience

Post by Mike DemoPad » Thu Dec 10, 2015 11:10 pm

Sorry to learn that you are experiencing problems. Have you emailed support@demopad.com ?
If not please do so as soon as convenient and cc to me mike.cain@demopad.com
I will also email support on your behalf and refer to this post.
Regards, Mike Cain CEO Demopad

Mike DemoPad
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2012 3:36 pm

Re: CentroControl experience

Post by Mike DemoPad » Thu Dec 10, 2015 11:38 pm

Always dangerous for commercial people to offer technical advice but until support reply to you here goes:
The Cloud is in two parts: From the TOP MENU BAR in Design software - UPLOAD to Cloud this means back up your project meaning the WINDOWS PC files. This does not mean that you can generate a QR code from within the user area in the Cloud (even though there is an option there, it is confusing - we will review the wording).
To get a file capable of deploying to a tablet or smart phone you need to generate it first. You do this in the Design software - from the top far left of the screen choose UPLOAD TO APP. This process generates the device version using the Windows PC files you created. From the App Upload splash screen there is an option to UPLOAD or SYNC with the Cloud. The same splash screen displays a QR code and it is this one that loads either direct from your computer or it will pull the file from the Cloud.
Another benefit of the Cloud is that if you provide support with your account and project reference they can access the project and check it, try to deploy it and advise you or even offer to fix the problem. Hope this helps!

User avatar
DemoPad
Site Admin
Posts: 703
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2012 10:46 am
Contact:

Re: CentroControl experience

Post by DemoPad » Fri Dec 11, 2015 12:04 am

CentroControl is almost identical to DemoControlHD.

All the QR code does is fill in the project location / project name information in the settings app. If you are using DemoControlHD or CentroControl and getting the error message : error loading system etc, it points to a general download error.

The issue mentioned above with the QR code not scanning is because the QR code was generated through our cloud portal, which currently only supports HDL projects - this will be changed shortly to generate QR codes for DemoPad projects also.

You should instead be using the 'Upload to App' button in DemoDesigner, just like a local upload, but use the cloud QR code option there, once you have published the compiled project to the cloud. Or you can use the local QR code option which will just fill in the location / name settings instead of manually having to type them in.

You can reload different projects with CentroControl the same way as you did with DemoControlHD - by going into the settings app and changing the project location / reload next time etc, or now there is a new option to 'show system load screen' which gives you the QR code reader option.

cv27
Posts: 226
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2012 10:15 pm
Location: Montréal, QC, Canada

Re: CentroControl experience

Post by cv27 » Fri Dec 11, 2015 11:02 pm

Thanks Mike & Andy (?). Both of your explanations, in this topic and in "DemoControlHD Users Forgotten?", clarified things for me.

I tend to agree with starwarsmike; here's a snip from his post:

"... I am sure like many others I have claimed this back in support time from DemoPad (again thank you for your help)..."

On the one hand, I've already paid for DemoControlHD, the Pro Graphics and iTunesLinkv1. The last two as I understand it are now free and the first one is end of life. It leaves the impression that my initial investment has somewhat of a null value today. On the other hand, and this was starwarsmike's point, you guys have gotten me out of trouble enough times to compensate for that.

In a way, it's all psychological. If DemoPad had presented CentroControl as an upgrade, discounted for existing users (-xx% or whatever), I suspect it would have been accepted more easily.

As it stands now, for me, there's no technical motivation to move to CentroControl ... until the Designer introduces a significant improvement only compatible with CentroControl: then I'll gladly pay for the upgrade. DemoPad is central to my house automation (the interactive part anyway).

Post Reply